aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/handbook/contrib.sgml
blob: a279ff06838d30a20960d9abed5b812f8a505d87 (plain) (blame)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245
246
247
248
249
250
251
252
253
254
255
256
257
258
259
260
261
262
263
264
265
266
267
268
269
270
271
272
273
274
275
276
277
278
279
280
281
282
283
284
285
286
287
288
289
290
291
292
293
294
295
296
297
298
299
300
301
302
303
304
305
306
307
308
309
310
311
312
313
<!-- $Id: contrib.sgml,v 1.15.2.3 1995-10-22 00:50:26 jfieber Exp $ -->
<!-- The FreeBSD Documentation Project -->

<chapt><heading>FreeBSD contributor list<label id="contrib"></heading>

  <sect><heading>Derived software contributors</heading>

    <p>This software was originally derived from William
      F. Jolitz's 386BSD release 0.1, though almost none of the
      original 386BSD specific code remains.  This software has
      been essentially reimplemented from the 4.4 BSD Lite
      release provided by the Computer Science Research Group
      (CSRG) at the University of California, Berkeley and
      associated academic contributors.

      There are also portions of NetBSD that have been integrated
      into FreeBSD as well, and we would therefore like to thank
      all the contributors to NetBSD for their work.  Despite
      some occasionally rocky moments in relations between the
      two groups, we both want essentially the same thing: More
      BSD based operating systems on people's computers!  We wish
      the NetBSD group every success in their endeavors.

  <sect><heading>Hardware contributors</heading>

    <p>A special thank-you to Walnut Creek CDROM for providing
      the Pentium P5-90 and 486/DX2-66 EISA/VL systems that are
      being used for our development work, to say nothing of the
      network access and other donations of hardware resources.
      It would have been impossible to do this release without
      their support.

      TRW Financial Systems, Inc. provided 130 PCs, three 68 GB
      fileservers, twelve ethernets, two routers and an ATM
      switch for debugging the diskless code.  They also keep a
      couple of FreeBSD hackers alive and busy.  Thanks!

      Thanks also to Dermot McDonnell for his donation of a
      Toshiba XM3401B CDROM drive.  It's been most useful!

      Thanks to Chuck Robey &lt;chuckr@eng.umd.edu&gt; who's been
      contributing his floppy tape streamer for experimental
      work.

  <sect><heading>The FreeBSD core team<label id="contrib:core"></heading>

    <p>(in alphabetical order by first name):

      <itemize>
	<item>Andrey A. Chernov &lt;ache@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Bruce Evans &lt;bde@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>David Greenman &lt;davidg@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Garrett A. Wollman &lt;wollman@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Gary Palmer &lt;gpalmer@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>J&ouml;rg Wunsch &lt;joerg@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>John Dyson &lt;dyson@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Jordan K. Hubbard &lt;jkh@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Justin Gibbs &lt;gibbs@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Poul-Henning Kamp &lt;phk@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Rich Murphey &lt;rich@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>Satoshi Asami &lt;asami@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<item>S&oslash;ren Schmidt &lt;sos@FreeBSD.org&gt;
      </itemize>

  <sect><heading>Who is responsible for what</heading>

    <p><descrip>
	<tag/President/ Jordan K. Hubbard &lt;jkh@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Principal Architect/ David Greenman &lt;davidg@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Documentation/ John Fieber &lt;jfieber@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Internationalization/ Andrey A. Chernov &lt;ache@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Networking/ Garrett A. Wollman &lt;wollman@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Postmaster/ Jonathan M. Bresler &lt;jmb@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Public Relations/ Jordan Hubbard &lt;jkh@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Release Coordinator/ Jordan Hubbard &lt;jkh@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/System Administration/ Gary Palmer &lt;gpalmer@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/Webmasters/ John Fieber &lt;jfieber@FreeBSD.org&gt; and
	  James L. Robinson &lt;jlrobin@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	<tag/XFree86 Project, Inc. Liason/ Rich Murphey 
	  &lt;rich@FreeBSD.org&gt;
      </descrip>

    <sect><heading>Additional FreeBSD contributors</heading>

      <p>(in alphabetical order by first name):

	<itemize>
	  <item>Adam David &lt;adam@veda.is&gt;
	  <item>Adam Glass &lt;glass@postgres.berkeley.edu&gt;
	  <item>Adrian T. Filipi-Martin &lt;atf3r@agate.cs.virginia.edu&gt;
	  <item>Akito Fujita &lt;fujita@zoo.ncl.omron.co.jp&gt;
	  <item>Alain Kalker &lt;A.C.P.M.Kalker@student.utwente.nl&gt;
	  <item>Andras Olah &lt;olah@cs.utwente.nl&gt;
	  <item>Andreas Klemm &lt;andreas@knobel.GUN.de&gt;
	  <item>Andrew Herbert &lt;andrew@werple.apana.org.au&gt;
	  <item>Andrew Moore &lt;alm@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Anthony Yee-Hang Chan &lt;yeehang@netcom.com&gt;
	  <item>Atsushi Murai &lt;amurai@spec.co.jp&gt;
	  <item>Bill Fenner &lt;fenner@parc.xerox.com&gt;
	  <item>Bill Paul &lt;wpaul@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Bob Wilcox &lt;bob@obiwan.uucp&gt;
	  <item>Brian Tao &lt;taob@gate.sinica.edu.tw&gt;
	  <item>Charles Hannum &lt;mycroft@ai.mit.edu&gt;
	  <item>Chet Ramey &lt;chet@odin.INS.CWRU.Edu&gt;
	  <item>Chris G. Demetriou &lt;cgd@postgres.berkeley.edu&gt;
	  <item>Chris Provenzano &lt;proven@athena.mit.edu&gt;
	  <item>Chris Stenton &lt;jacs@gnome.co.uk&gt;
	  <item>Chris Torek &lt;torek@ee.lbl.gov&gt;
	  <item>Christian Gusenbauer &lt;cg@fimp01.fim.uni-linz.ac.at&gt;
	  <item>Christoph Robitschko &lt;chmr@edvz.tu-graz.ac.at&gt;
	  <item>Chuck Hein &lt;chein@cisco.com&gt;
	  <item>Chuck Robey &lt;chuckr@Glue.umd.edu&gt;
	  <item>Cornelis van der Laan &lt;nils@guru.ims.uni-stuttgart.de&gt;
	  <item>Craig Struble &lt;cstruble@vt.edu&gt;
	  <item>Cristian Ferretti &lt;cfs@riemann.mat.puc.cl&gt;
	  <item>Curt Mayer &lt;curt@toad.com&gt;
	  <item>Danny J. Zerkel &lt;dzerkel@feephi.phofarm.com&gt;
	  <item>Dave Burgess &lt;burgess@hrd769.brooks.af.mil&gt;
	  <item>Dave Chapeskie &lt;dchapes@zeus.leitch.com&gt;
	  <item>Dave Rivers &lt;rivers@ponds.uucp&gt;
	  <item>David Dawes &lt;dawes@physics.su.OZ.AU&gt;
	  <item>Dean Huxley &lt;dean@fsa.ca&gt;
	  <item>Dirk Froemberg &lt;dirk@hal.in-berlin.de&gt;
	  <item>Don Whiteside &lt;dwhite@anshar.shadow.net&gt;
	  <item>Eric L. Hernes &lt;erich@lodgenet.com&gt;
	  <item>Frank Bartels &lt;knarf@camelot.de&gt;
	  <item>Frank Durda IV	&lt;bsdmail@nemesis.lonestar.org&gt;
	  <item>Frank Maclachlan &lt;fpm@crash.cts.com&gt;
	  <item>Frank Nobis &lt;fn@trinity.radio-do.de&gt;
	  <item>Gary A. Browning &lt;gab10@griffcd.amdahl.com&gt;
	  <item>Gary Clark II &lt;gclarkii@FreeBSD.ORG&gt;
	  <item>Gary Jennejohn &lt;gj%pcs.dec.com@inet-gw-1.pa.dec.com&gt;
	  <item>Gene Stark &lt;stark@cs.sunysb.edu&gt;
	  <item>Guido van Rooij &lt;guido@gvr.win.tue.nl&gt;
	  <item>Havard Eidnes &lt;Havard.Eidnes@runit.sintef.no&gt;
	  <item>Hideaki Ohmon &lt;ohmon@sfc.keio.ac.jp&gt;
	  <item>Holger Veit &lt;Holger.Veit@gmd.de&gt;
	  <item>Ishii Masahiro, R. Kym Horsell
	  <item>J.T. Conklin &lt;jtc@winsey.com&gt;
	  <item>James Clark &lt;jjc@jclark.com&gt;
	  <item>James da Silva &lt;jds@cs.umd.edu&gt; et al
	  <item>Janusz Kokot &lt;janek@gaja.ipan.lublin.pl&gt;
	  <item>Javier Martin Rueda &lt;jmrueda@diatel.upm.es&gt;
	  <item>Jean-Marc Zucconi &lt;jmz@FreeBSD.ORG&gt;
	  <item>Jim Wilson &lt;wilson@moria.cygnus.com&gt;
	  <item>Jonathan Bresler &lt; jmb@FreeBSD.ORG&gt; 
	  <item>Josh MacDonald &lt;jmacd@uclink.berkeley.edu&gt;
	  <item>Juergen Lock &lt;nox@jelal.hb.north.de&gt;
	  <item>Julian Elischer &lt;julian@dialix.oz.au&gt;
	  <item>Julian Stacey &lt;stacey@guug.de&gt;
	    (fallback: &lt;julian@meepmeep.pcs.com&gt)
	  <item>Keith Bostic &lt;bostic@toe.CS.Berkeley.EDU&gt;
	  <item>Keith Moore &lt;?&gt;
	  <item>Kirk McKusick &lt;mckusick@mckusick.com&gt;
	  <item>Kurt Olsen &lt;kurto@tiny.mcs.usu.edu&gt;
	  <item>L Jonas Olsson &lt;ljo@po.cwru.edu&gt;
	  <item>Lars Fredriksen &lt;fredriks@mcs.com&gt;
	  <item>Lucas James &lt;Lucas.James@ldjpc.apana.org.au&gt;
	  <item>Marc Frajola &lt;marc@dev.com&gt;
	  <item>Marc Ramirez &lt;mrami@mramirez.sy.yale.edu
	  <item>Marc van Kempen &lt;wmbfmk@urc.tue.nl&gt;
	  <item>Mark Murray &lt;mark@grondar.za&gt;
	  <item>Mark Tinguely &lt;tinguely@plains.nodak.edu&gt;
	    &lt;tinguely@hookie.cs.ndsu.NoDak.edu&gt;
	  <item>Martin Birgmeier
	  <item>Martin Renters &lt;martin@innovus.com&gt;
	  <item>Matt Thomas &lt;thomas@lkg.dec.com&gt;
	  <item>Michael Elbel &lt;me@freebsd.org&gt;
	  <item>Michael Smith &lt;msmith@atrad.adelaide.edu.au&gt;
	  <item>Mike Pritchard &lt;mpp@mpp.minn.net&gt;
	  <item>NIIMI Satoshi &lt;sa2c@and.or.jp&gt;
	  <item>Nate Williams &lt;nate@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Nobuhiro Yasutomi &lt;nobu@psrc.isac.co.jp&gt;
	  <item>Nobuyuki Koganemaru &lt;kogane@kces.koganemaru.co.jp&gt;
	  <item>Ollivier Robert &lt;roberto@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Paul Kranenburg &lt;pk@cs.few.eur.nl&gt;
	  <item>Paul Mackerras &lt;paulus@cs.anu.edu.au&gt;
	  <item>Paul Richards &lt;paul@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Paul Traina &lt;pst@cisco.com&gt;
	  <item>Peter Dufault &lt;dufault@hda.com&gt;
	  <item>Peter Wemm &lt;peter@haywire.DIALix.COM&gt;
	  <item>Philippe Charnier &lt;charnier@lirmm.fr&gt;
	  <item>Richard Stallman &lt;rms@gnu.ai.mit.edu&gt;
	  <item>Rob Shady &lt;rls@id.net&gt;
	  <item>Rob Snow &lt;rsnow@txdirect.net&gt;
	  <item>Rodney W. Grimes &lt;rgrimes@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Sascha Wildner &lt;swildner@channelz.GUN.de&gt;
	  <item>Scott Blachowicz &lt;scott@sabami.seaslug.org&gt;
	  <item>Scott Mace &lt;smace@FreeBSD.org&gt;
	  <item>Sean Eric Fagan &lt;sef@kithrup.com&gt;
	  <item>Serge V. Vakulenko &lt;vak@zebub.msk.su&gt;
	  <item>Stefan Esser &lt;se@MI.Uni-Koeln.DE&gt;
	  <item>Stephen McKay &lt;syssgm@devetir.qld.gov.au&gt;
	  <item>Steve Gerakines &lt;steve2@genesis.tiac.net&gt;
	  <item>Steve Passe &lt;smp@csn.net&gt;
	  <item>Steven Wallace &lt;swallace@ece.uci.edu&gt;
	  <item>Tatsumi Hosokawa &lt;hosokawa@mt.cs.keio.ac.jp&gt;
	  <item>Terry Lee &lt;terry@uivlsi.csl.uiuc.edu&gt;
	  <item>Theo Deraadt &lt;deraadt@fsa.ca&gt;
	  <item>Thomas Gellekum &lt;thomas@ghpc8.ihf.rwth-aachen.de&gt;
	  <item>Tom Samplonius &lt;tom@misery.sdf.com&gt;
	  <item>Torbjorn Granlund &lt;tege@matematik.su.se&gt;
	  <item>Torsten Blum &lt;torstenb@FreeBSD.ORG&gt;
	  <item>Ugen J.S.Antsilevich &lt;ugen@latte.WorldBank.org&gt;
	  <item>Werner Griessl &lt;werner@btp1da.phy.uni-bayreuth.de&gt;
	  <item>Wolfgang Stanglmeier &lt;wolf@kintaro.cologne.de&gt;
	  <item>Wolfram Schneider &lt;wosch@cs.tu-berlin.de&gt;
	  <item>Yuval Yarom &lt;yval@cs.huji.ac.il&gt;
	  <item>Yves Fonk &lt;yves@cpcoup5.tn.tudelft.nl&gt;
	</itemize>

  <sect><heading>386BSD Patch kit patch contributors</heading>

    <p>(in alphabetical order by first name):

      <itemize>
	<item>Adam Glass &lt;glass@postgres.berkeley.edu&gt;
	<item>Adrian Hall &lt;adrian@ibmpcug.co.uk&gt;
	<item>Andrey A. Chernov &lt;ache@astral.msk.su&gt;
	<item>Andrew Herbert &lt;andrew@werple.apana.org.au&gt;
	<item>Andrew Moore &lt;alm@netcom.com&gt;
	<item>Andy Valencia &lt;ajv@csd.mot.com&gt; &lt;jtk@netcom.com&gt;
	<item>Arne Henrik Juul &lt;arnej@Lise.Unit.NO&gt;
	<item>Bakul Shah &lt;bvs@bitblocks.com&gt;
	<item>Barry Lustig &lt;barry@ictv.com&gt;
	<item>Bob Wilcox &lt;bob@obiwan.uucp&gt;
	<item>Branko Lankester
	<item>Brett Lymn &lt;blymn@mulga.awadi.com.AU&gt;
	<item>Charles Hannum &lt;mycroft@ai.mit.edu&gt;
	<item>Chris G. Demetriou &lt;cgd@postgres.berkeley.edu&gt;
	<item>Chris Torek &lt;torek@ee.lbl.gov&gt;
	<item>Christoph Robitschko &lt;chmr@edvz.tu-graz.ac.at&gt;
	<item>Daniel Poirot &lt;poirot@aio.jsc.nasa.gov&gt;
	<item>Dave Burgess &lt;burgess@hrd769.brooks.af.mil&gt;
	<item>Dave Rivers &lt;rivers@ponds.uucp&gt;
	<item>David Dawes &lt;dawes@physics.su.OZ.AU&gt;
	<item>David Greenman &lt;davidg@Root.COM&gt;
	<item>Eric J. Haug &lt;ejh@slustl.slu.edu&gt;
	<item>Felix Gaehtgens &lt;felix@escape.vsse.in-berlin.de&gt;
	<item>Frank Maclachlan &lt;fpm@crash.cts.com&gt;
	<item>Gary A. Browning &lt;gab10@griffcd.amdahl.com&gt;
	<item>Geoff Rehmet &lt;csgr@alpha.ru.ac.za&gt;
	<item>Goran Hammarback &lt;goran@astro.uu.se&gt;
	<item>Guido van Rooij &lt;guido@gvr.win.tue.nl&gt;
	<item>Guy Harris &lt;guy@auspex.com&gt;
	<item>Havard Eidnes &lt;Havard.Eidnes@runit.sintef.no&gt;
	<item>Herb Peyerl &lt;hpeyerl@novatel.cuc.ab.ca
	<item>Holger Veit &lt;Holger.Veit@gmd.de&gt;
	<item>Ishii Masahiro, R. Kym Horsell
	<item>J.T. Conklin &lt;jtc@winsey.com&gt;
	<item>Jagane D Sundar &lt; jagane@netcom.com &gt;
	<item>James Clark &lt;jjc@jclark.com&gt;
	<item>James Jegers &lt;jimj@miller.cs.uwm.edu&gt;
	<item>James W. Dolter
	<item>James da Silva &lt;jds@cs.umd.edu&gt; et al
	<item>Jay Fenlason &lt;hack@datacube.com&gt;
	<item>Jim Wilson &lt;wilson@moria.cygnus.com&gt;
	<item>J&ouml;rg Lohse &lt;lohse@tech7.informatik.uni-hamburg.de&gt;
	<item>J&ouml;rg Wunsch &lt;joerg_wunsch@uriah.heep.sax.de&gt;
	<item>John Dyson - &lt;formerly dyson@ref.tfs.com&gt;
	<item>John Polstra &lt;jdp@polstra.com&gt;
	<item>John Woods &lt;jfw@eddie.mit.edu&gt;
	<item>Jordan K. Hubbard &lt;jkh@whisker.hubbard.ie&gt;
	<item>Julian Elischer &lt;julian@dialix.oz.au&gt;
	<item>Julian Stacey &lt;stacey@guug.de&gt; 
	  (fallback: &lt;julian@meepmeep.pcs.com&gt;)
	<item>Karl Lehenbauer &lt;karl@NeoSoft.com&gt; 
	  &lt;karl@one.neosoft.com&gt;
	<item>Keith Bostic &lt;bostic@toe.CS.Berkeley.EDU&gt;
	<item>Ken Hughes
	<item>Kent Talarico &lt;kent@shipwreck.tsoft.net&gt;
	<item>Kevin Lahey &lt;kml%rokkaku.UUCP@mathcs.emory.edu&gt;
	  &lt;kml@mosquito.cis.ufl.edu&gt;
	<item>Marc Frajola &lt;marc@dev.com&gt;
	<item>Mark Tinguely &lt;tinguely@plains.nodak.edu&gt;
	  &lt;tinguely@hookie.cs.ndsu.NoDak.edu&gt;
	<item>Martin Renters &lt;martin@innovus.com&gt;
	<item>Michael Galassi &lt;nerd@percival.rain.com&gt;
	<item>Mike Durkin &lt;mdurkin@tsoft.sf-bay.org&gt;
	<item>Nate Williams &lt;nate@bsd.coe.montana.edu&gt;
	<item>Nick Handel &lt;nhandel@NeoSoft.com&gt; 
	  &lt;nick@madhouse.neosoft.com&gt;
	<item>Pace Willisson &lt;pace@blitz.com&gt;
	<item>Paul Kranenburg &lt;pk@cs.few.eur.nl&gt;
	<item>Paul Mackerras &lt;paulus@cs.anu.edu.au&gt;
	<item>Paul Popelka &lt;paulp@uts.amdahl.com&gt;
	<item>Peter da Silva &lt;peter@NeoSoft.com&gt;
	<item>Phil Sutherland &lt;philsuth@mycroft.dialix.oz.au&gt;
	<item>Ralf Friedl &lt;friedl@informatik.uni-kl.de&gt;
	<item>Rick Macklem &lt;root@snowhite.cis.uoguelph.ca&gt;
	<item>Robert D. Thrush &lt;rd@phoenix.aii.com&gt;
	<item>Rodney W. Grimes &lt;rgrimes@cdrom.com&gt;
	<item>Rog Egge &lt;?&gt;
	<item>Sascha Wildner &lt;swildner@channelz.GUN.de&gt;
	<item>Scott Burris &lt;scott@pita.cns.ucla.edu&gt;
	<item>Scott Reynolds &lt;scott@clmqt.marquette.mi.us&gt;
	<item>Sean Eric Fagan &lt;sef@kithrup.com&gt;
	<item>Simon J Gerraty &lt;sjg@melb.bull.oz.au&gt;
	  &lt;sjg@zen.void.oz.au&gt;
	<item>Stephen McKay &lt;syssgm@devetir.qld.gov.au&gt;
	<item>Terry Lambert &lt;terry@icarus.weber.edu&gt;
	<item>Terry Lee &lt;terry@uivlsi.csl.uiuc.edu&gt;
	<item>Warren Toomey &lt;wkt@csadfa.cs.adfa.oz.au&gt;
	<item>Wiljo Heinen &lt;wiljo@freeside.ki.open.de&gt;
	<item>William Jolitz &lt;withheld&gt;
	<item>Wolfgang Solfrank &lt;ws@tools.de&gt;
	<item>Wolfgang Stanglmeier &lt;wolf@dentaro.GUN.de&gt;
	<item>Yuval Yarom &lt;yval@cs.huji.ac.il&gt;
	</itemize>

      Last, but not least, the release engineer would like to
      thank: His Wife, for chocolate chip cookies, and some other
      things.  The DGB project @ TFS, for patience and tolerance.